News: Well$ Announces Mixtape Release Date and Reveals Cover Art

HipHopDX Announces May 19th Release Date for Forthcoming MTSYD: The Revenge of the African Booty Scratcher Mixtape


Critical Praise for Well$:

“Well$’s work always hits hard, and is overwhelmingly personal.” – Complex

“WELL$ flows atop the audio grit with some clever rhymes contained by a confident delivery…[the track] leaves us with high expectations…” – Potholes in My Blog

“Charlotte-based rapper Well$ is redefining swag one music video at a time.” – OkayAfrica

“Sludgy riffs, dusty drums… it’s a discernible throwback to that ’90s New York aesthetic.” –

“Watching him rhyme while sitting on the couch next to his grandmother is not only a beautiful sight, but also shows how easily he has this rap thing down.” – Noisey/Vice

The News:

The fans have spoken. After reaching 15,000 listens on his Complex-premiered track, “Dreams Of An Insomniac,” Well$ is more than happy to reveal, via HipHopDX, the cover art and release date for his forthcoming MTSYD: The Revenge of the African Booty Scratcher mixtape. You can grab the mixtape next month on May 19th. For weeks on end, the young Charlotte rapper has been hard at work in the studio perfecting his sound and flow, exhibiting a level of composure and focus far beyond his 19 years of age. Patience breeds perfection, something Well$ discovered while working on his mixtape. Our patience will soon be rewarded with MTSYD: The Revenge of the African Booty Scratchera sophisticated project named after the taunting that is not only quoted in one of his favorite movies, Boyz N the Hood, but the same taunting he experienced as the son of Congolese immigrants.

Well$’s single “Dreams Of An Insomniac” is part of a plethora of recent releases from the young lyricist. Just last week, he debuted the “Lil’ Tommy” single in an interview with the Huffington Post. His “Savoir-Faire” music video created quite a stir after appearing on Noisey, with people succumbing to the charms of his Jordan-wearing grandma and his preternatural talent.


Check out the HipHopDX Announcement:

Tracklisting for MTSYD: The Revenge of the African Booty Scratcher:

1. “Temporary Forevers” / “xxMONOLOGUExx” Prod. Eric G & PGMW (Co-prod. THE BLACK HE∆RTS CLUB)
2. “Savoir-Faire” Prod. THE BLACK HE∆RTS CLUB
3. “Lil’ Tommy” Prod. Shurik’n (Co-prod. THE BLACK HE∆RTS CLUB)
4. “Black Swan” – Prod. DJ Shlohmo
5. “Cercle Vicieux (Vicious Circle)” feat. Makeda Iroquois Prod. Massology
6. “TNGHT” / “AFTRMDNGHT” Prod. DJ Dahi
7. “GastonTwo09ine” feat. Johnny Polygon / “Dreams Of An Insomniac” prod. Noah Yisreal (Co-prod. Austin Celaya & THE BLACK HE∆RTS CLUB) & Atu
8. “Major Paine (Daddy’s Little Girl)” Prod. Austin Celaya & THE BLACK HE∆RTS CLUB)
9. “Assiatou’s Interlude” feat. Obi Asiama Prod. Juke Ellington
10. “A$$WATER (Circa ’94)” feat. SisterMarie Warner / “Leroy Shingu’s Interlude” Prod. Ruddy P & PRKR
11. “Faux Gold” feat. Mibbs
12. “Django” Prod. Wonya
13. “Bienaime’s Interlude” Prod. Ryan Hemingsworth
14. “Revenge of the African Booty Scratcher” Prod. Larry Achiampong
15. “Holy $ins” / “The Inauguration” Prod. PGMW & John Beats

wells back cover2

Complex premieres “Dreams Of An Insomniac”:

The Huffington Post premieres “Lil’ Tommy”:

Noisey premieres “Savoir-Faire”:

HipHopDX premieres “Black Swan”:

Well$ Background:

Like most kids in his native town of Charlotte, North Carolina, Leroy Shingu had a head filled with hip-hop dreams growing up, even trying his hand at freestyling when he was all of nine years old. But a trying background starkly different from the blissful suburban reality of his peers would compel the rapper better known as Well$ to turn that childhood fantasy into a promising career as a rapper. Quietly released in 2012, $ay La V, Well$’ debut EP rose steadily on the Bandcamp charts to peak at number 5 and eventually become the most downloaded album in the Charlotte area. This remarkable ascent as well as the video for the song “State of Ecstasy The Interlude Part 1″ hauled Well$ out of virtual anonymity, and shoved him onto high profile stage performances with artists such as G Eazy, Chris Webby, Johnny Polygon, and one of his idols, Pac Div.


bandcamptwitter | facebookyoutubesoundcloud

“Dreams Of An Insomniac”:

“Lil’ Tommy”:


“Black Swan”:

“State of Ecstasy Pt. 2”:

“State of Ecstasy Pt. 1”:

Bio, pics, and more here: