News: Sir Michael Rocks of The Cool Kids Announces New Solo Album Banco for July 29th, 2014

Pathfinder Sir Michael Rocks Announces His New Solo Album Banco via Complex & Releases Music Video for “Playstation 1.5”


Critical Praise for Sir Michael Rocks:

“At only 23, Sir Michael already has years of music industry experience under his belt.” – Complex

“Needless to say, dude’s a visionary.” – XXL

“Sir Michael Rocks is a pretty damn adventurous dude.” – Noisey

“Rock is a solo artist looking to make good on a promise of stardom.” – The Fader

“He’s Mikey, he, he, he rocks. Yes he does.” – Pigeons and Planes

The News:

Born Antoine Reed, Sir Michael Rocks has always been a a little ahead of his time, a little more original than his peers, a little bit more creative. Since he and fellow The Cool Kids member Chuck Inglish burst onto the scene in 2007 as teenagers, they’ve helped redefine the image of underground, independent rap for the Internet era with their effortlessly cool aesthetic and catchy, creative, music. Having grown older and wiser over the years, the ever-evolving and defining style icon Sir Michael Rocks has recently traded in his hallmark throwback, flashy aesthetic to embrace a more simple, back-to-the-land aesthetic, selling off his old diamond-studded jewelry in favor of handmade wooden pieces that offer significant and power. As he explores an increasingly far-ranging set of ideas, his lifelong impulse to explore and innovate remains at the forefront of what Rocks is trying to accomplish and is very much present in his upcoming debut solo album, Banco, which is slated for release on July 29th and pre-order starting July 1st, 2014.

With features from Too $hort, Mac Miller, Twista, Iamsu, Trinidad James, Casey Veggies, Robb Bank$, Pouya and Chuck Inglish and production from DJ Mustard, Banco showcases Sir Michael at his most inventive and most personal. Whether he’s bragging about his juicer or sharing a tragic story involving a family member’s fatal car accident, Sir Michael Rocks keeps the vibe positive and honest, upholding the notion that nothing can be made without giving something up, noting that people can make anything they want if they’re willing to do so. A lifelong love of video games and anime has nurtured other values as well: hard work, respect for others, and, above all, a refusal to let his surroundings temper his innate sense of joy. Being surrounded by nature and animals is another thing that brings the former Chicago native joy, and now that he lives in wildlife-teeming South Florida in Miami, he’s incorporated those themes more than ever into his music and Photoshop-driven collage cover art, which he created himself. Banco is a fascinating left turn of an album that finds Rocks making the most experimental, energetic, and varied music of his career.

Sir Michael Rocks also announced via twitter that The Cool Kids will be ending their hiatus and reuniting to release their highly anticipated album Shark Week by the end of the year. This will mark the first album The Cool Kids will have released since their 2011 album When Fish Ride BicyclesSir Michael Rocks is also prepping for a multi-city Florida tour alongside Robb Bank$.

Watch “Playstation 1.5” here:

Read the Complex news announcement here:

Summer Florida Tour Dates:

June 29 – Miami
June 30 – Tampa
July 1 – Orlando

For Tix and More Info:

Tracklist for Sir Michael Rocks – Banco:

01. Intro
02. Memo
03. Some Ish (feat. Twista)
04. The Docks (Skit)
05. Bussin (feat. Casey Veggies and Iamsu!)
06. Playstation 1.5
07. Drug Dealer
08. Kill Switch (feat. Robb Bank$ and Pouya)
09. Dino Feeding (Skit)
10. Lost Boys (feat. Mac Miller and Trinidad James; co-prod. by Mac Miller)
11. One Time (feat. Buddy)
12. Cold Sore (Skit)
13. Fuck Seaworld
14. Ain’t Nothin Like (feat. Too $hort and Chuck Inglish; prod. by DJ Mustard)
15. Francois

Please contact Michelle or Rory if interested in talking with Sir Michael Rocks

Sir Michael Rocks Background:

Sir Michael Rocks has always been a little ahead of his time, a little more original than his peers, a little bit more creative. As a teenager, he started making music under the name Mikey Rocks as one half of groundbreaking duo The Cool Kids. Formed over the Internet and powered by a strong grassroots fanbase online, the group helped redefine the image of rap for the Internet era with an effortlessly cool throwback style and an iconic, laid-back fashion sense. Rechristening himself as Sir Michael Rocks in 2011, the restlessly creative artist, now based in Miami after time spent in Chicago and LA, has been pushing the boundaries of rap originality even further in recent years with a string of popular, critically acclaimed mixtapes. As he explores an increasingly far-ranging set of ideas and prepares his solo debut album, Banco, the lifelong impulse to explore and innovate remains at the forefront of what Rocks is trying to accomplish.


official site | twitter | facebook | instagram | youtube | soundcloud

Pre-order Banco:

“Memo” (Video):


Bio, pictures and streams available here: